Pocket Pets – Good things come in small packages

There is an old saying – “good things come in small packages.”  I guess the same can be said for our companion animals.  Most people think of companion animals as dogs, cats, horses, rabbits, guinea pigs, miniatures horses, pot belly pigs and birds.  There are a growing number of people who also think of rats, mice, lizards, sugar gliders, hamsters, fish and turtles as companion animals.  Who is to judge what others see in these animals as pets? 

I had a pet duckling when growing up.  That little duckling followed me everywhere.  I called her “darling.”  One day I found “darling” on the ground, torn apart by Lord knows what !!  I was devastated to say the least.  My mom was understanding and scooped her up, wrapped her in a towel and took her to the vet.  The vet was very kind and compassionate and offered information on afterlife care, as she knew how much “darling” had meant to me.  We decided to bury her in our backyard.  However, this is not an option for those who live in an apartment, or some other places in the city due to ordinances. 

I wrote a poem and we had a little memorial service with friends and family for little “darling,” but it was really more for me to say good-bye to my pet duckling.  It is one of the best gifts my mom could have provided for me.  I learned how to grieve at a young age and also how to take care of the steps when a pet passes away.  Eight years old is not too young to understand death and grieving.  I believe that having this life experience at a young age helped mold me into a more compassionate adult.  If you have an experience you would like to share, we invite you to comment on our blog, or send your comments or story to our contact page.Image

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

